Value Investor Conference London

Value Investor Awards

Value Investor Awards are awarded to CEOs of Public Companies and Fund Managers.

CEO Awards
On average, 70% of shareholder funds are retained in businesses and not paid out to shareholders. Effective deployment of retained capital therefore makes a profound difference to investor returns. To recognise this key talent, the London Value Investor Conference launched two new Awards in 2016 for the Public company CEOs with the best Capital Allocation record judged over multiple years. The following nominees have been shortlisted for these award in 2017 and the winner will be decided by the LVIC Awards Committee and announced at the London Value Investor Conference.

The LVIC Award for Best Capital Allocator – UK listed companies

Simon Wolfson – Next
Henry Engelhardt – Admiral
Ben Habib – First Property Group
Tim Martin – J D Wetherspoon (Winner 2017)

The LVIC Award for Best Capital Allocator – Global listed companies

Tommy Breen – DCC Plc
Michael O’Leary – Ryanair
Warren Buffett – Berkshire Hathaway (Winner 2017)
David Chiu – Far East Consortium

The criteria used for judging good capital allocation discipline will include such things as:

  • Returning capital to shareholders either through dividends or share buybacks when these offer the best available return on capital
  • Saving shareholders money by controlling costs in an unusually disciplined way
  • Deploying growth capex with a keen focus on return on investment
  • Shutting down or selling poor return, non-core or loss-making businesses
  • Acquiring businesses or large assets at prices which deliver superior long term shareholder returns

Fund Manager Award
The first LVIC Award for Lifetime Achievement was won by Charles Brandes in 2015, followed by Jean-Marie Eveillard in 2016. In 2017, the following nominees have been shortlisted and you can now vote for the winner.

LVIC Fund Manager Lifetime Achievement Award 2017

William H. Browne – Tweedy, Browne Company
Joel Greenblatt – Gotham Capital
Michael Cook – Southern Sun Asset Management
Anthony Bolton – Fidelity (Winner 2017)


Vote now

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

On 26 May 2011, the rules about cookies on websites changed. This site uses cookies. We have already set cookies which are essential for the operation of this site. More Info By using this site you accept additional cookies from this site used to support optional features of the site or to gather anonymous usage statistics we use to improve the siteures of the site or to gather anonymous usage statistics we use to improve the site